4th of July Star

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this old wood star someone had made…

paint coming off… and holes drilled all around…

I thought of lights… but just didn’t seem right…

I think I was drawn to it…

because my Dad had made one so long ago when I was young to hang on our garage… for Christmas…

We had our “Christmas Star” for many years… and then it just disappeared…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With the 4th of July coming this weekend… (Saturday)…

I thought I would make something for my front door…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this red material in a clearance bin… and I liked the shiny gold specks all over it…

said, “CELEBRATION” to me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After drawing (tracing) around the wood star on the material’s reverse side…

I glued it on with the right side up onto the star with Mod Podge…

I then Mod Podged it all over on the front…

It drys clear…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this blue/white star ribbon for $1.00 and thought it would work well to run through the holes…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Starting from back … pushed ribbon up through holes  that I had opened with the point of my scissors…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Up and down I pulled the ribbon through holes…

I had just enough!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I always have ribbons I keep in a box…

so…

the red, white and blue worked well…

Just a small bow to accent the Star…

It is now hanging on my door… and I like it!

5 thoughts on “4th of July Star

  1. I love your star and your constant creativity. We are doing 4th July this year! My brother and his wife are with us from Atlanta Georgia and They want to do a BBQ . I have bought some bunting and other bits and you will see the pictures later.
    All the best to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

