Glass Birds – Fishing Boy – Cats -Teapot

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have had this glass bird wind chime for many years…

It has hung outside since I bought it…

and as you can tell… they are peeling… they have lost their color… faded!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The weather does that!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I knew I probably could buy some glass paint to refresh them…

and so yesterday, I found some at Hobby Lobby…

It had a variety of colors…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

but, I thought I should try to keep it as close to original as possible…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The paint dried pretty quick… and I hung them inside until completely dry…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty, huh!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The sun was so bright… the color doesn’t show as well as it really does…

but, they are back outside on the tree…

and for a few dollars they are bright in color again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

**********************************************************

I’ve talked about this little fishing girl before…

she is porcelain… and my Dad bought it for my Mom many, many years ago…

when I was quite young…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have replaced her fishing pole and fish that had been lost…

and then the other day at the thrift store… I found her friend…

or it could be her brother…

I washed him really well…

and added a new twig pole and a little glass fish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wanted them to be together…

and looked for a shelf…

I found this little wood chair that was blue and red…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided it would make a great shelf… and painted it black…

It now hangs on my kitchen wall…

and they seem content to be together at last!

***************************************************

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My babies were so tired…

that they were found laying on my bed… together…

sound asleep!

**************************************************

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lately I don’t buy too many pieces of pottery…

I don’t need it!…

but, this looked like from the late 1940’s… or early 1950’s…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a teapot with a Colonial Man’s Face in excellent condition…

no cracks, no chips, no crazing…

complete with lid and metal handle…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I paid $3.99 for it…

and I found one with a different man’s face… just like it…

on EBAY… for $17.99…

Made in JAPAN…

I liked him!…

so will find a spot for him eventually…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

8 thoughts on “Glass Birds – Fishing Boy – Cats -Teapot

  1. Most people would have thrown the mobile away…it looks like new and very beautiful…cute fishing people…even cuter cats…I love thrift stores, yard sales, and even trash picking on occasion. Love the post!

  2. I always enjoy looking at your finds. I have the same girl, from same era, but mine is playing an instrument. She has same colors and pigtails

Leave a Reply

