Making Pepper Jelly…

This little box got me started in wanting to make Pepper Jelly…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It has a package of Pectin and Seasoning in it…

The pectin to thicken the jelly and the seasonings for flavor…

Of course…

Sweet Peppers are needed…

I chose red, yellow and orange for color and flavor…

You can do all redall greenall yellow

It takes about 10 peppers … Since I bought in bags… I purchased  3 …

They just looked so fresh… and colorful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You have to remove seeds and head…

Wash thoroughly…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After running through a food processor… you are left pretty much with pure’ (mushy peppers)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What you want is 5 cups of juice…

Seems such a waste!

You may have to add some water to make 5 cups…

I just run water over the pulp a few times… until I got 5 cups of juice…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jars I collect were already sterilized… along with lids…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After adding seasoning and pectin you bring to a boil… stirring frequently…

When it reaches a good boil… add 9 cups sugar all at once… and stir constantly…

When reaches a complete boil…

Boil for 1 minute…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour hot Jelly into prepared jars…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and when you see your finished product…

I usually freeze my jelly where it will last about a year… It will be all gone way before that!

You can just smile and feel so pleased with yourself…

An achievement to either keep and enjoy…

or give away a few jars as gifts as I do…

My favorite way of eating Pepper Jelly is with  Cream Cheese on crackers…

So good!~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

9 thoughts on “Making Pepper Jelly…

Leave a Reply

