“Dumb Ol’ Meatloaf!”

We had Doug over yesterday after he and I went to our favorite Thrift Store…

I fixed meatloaf, mashed potatoes and green beans…

One of his favorites…

He always has to say, “Dumb ol’ Meatloaf!”… from the movie “Christmas Story”…

51lQdA-REkL

 

I’m not the greatest cook… but, I try to please…

and I guess it did by the way he ate…

He talked to the neighbor lady… who always kids with him… and calls him “The Supervisor”  k13139162 because he always had a way to do things…

and something to say about how things were done…

Their little joke!…

He told her, “I like the people where I am… listening and telling stories… of their lives”…

I would love to be a little bird sitting in a tree listening to what HE has to say!…k9072334

He also said. “It’s different coming over now”…

in other words… we are changing…

I think that is a good thing…

I thank God every day for this blessing of finding my son a place that he can feel comfortable in…

a place that is friendly…

a place that treats him special…

People who are down to Earth… caring and love their job…

My chest still fills with a tightness… as I sit here… thinking about him…

k16869140

loving him so much…

hearing his Dad… wanting so much more for him…

tears running down my cheeks…

yet, knowing we could never have gone on the way we were…

and through all of the pain… some major issues have been resolved…

I will always be there for him…

His greatest concern…

but, now… treat him like company and fix “Dumb ol’ Meatloaf”!… k2435024

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on ““Dumb Ol’ Meatloaf!”

Leave a Reply

