Free Write Friday: Your Earliest Memory

Memory Prompt:

Write about your earliest memory. Good, bad, happy or sad. Before you begin, take time to dwell in that memory. Absorb everything you can about it. What you see, what you smell, what you hear and mostly, how you feel. Let it resonate. Marinate your mind in that one moment. Then begin…

https://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/

Credit: We Heart ItDon't forget your badge!

Memories can be tricky…

we live our memories…

and then some of the memories we think we have are actually things people have said…

My cousin and I were born on the same day in January…

in the same hospital…

I have heard that story so many times… of my Mom and my Aunt Edith having girl babies on the same day… that I feel I remember it…

Yes… I was there… being born three hours earlier than my cousin… but, do I remember it…

No…

I do remember that I was the “baby” of the family…

Being the last one born of five…

and I was treated quite special…

I do remember living in the little house my Dad had built having gotten out of the Navy and buying eight acres of land in the country…

I do remember glimpses of my brother in the field of our land… combing his hair in front of a mirror by the front door…

I have glimpses of my Mother and Dad…

and my older sister who was around 5-1/2 years old at that time…

I remember living in this small house that the creek ran behind…

the Collie dog named Ring…

my oldest sister bringing me bottles from where she worked…

They were all glass at that time…

and I would throw them on the tile floors that covered concrete and break them…

I remember sitting in my Mother’s lap… and the sweet smell of her and her softness…

What a warm feeling….

and then my Dad seemed to be a protective feeling…

Holding me in his arms… and walking around with me… Up so high… and feeling safe…

I was in awe of my sister and brother… being able to do so much…

they seemed to give me attention… although thinking I was spoiled from what I hear…(not a memory)…

because I know I must have been the “perfect” child…

the outside toilet… white with stone steps… all made by my Dad…

I remember taking short trips…

to the country where my Grandmother lived… dusty… crossing a bridge… water in the creek…

Liked those memories!…

I seemed to just take everything in

the kin-folk as you might call them…

the food put on the table with everyone bustling around…

The men telling stories… and maybe drinking a beer…

Laughing was always heard…

everyone so glad to see each other…

warm summer days…

playing in the creek… and sitting in a metal tub outside with water in it…

Watching my Mom hang clothes on the clothes lineheating water over a fire built on a wheel barrel frame in a metal tub…

Watching my Dad nail many nailsclimbing ladders… carrying boards… cut with saws…

building our bigger house…

My Mom sewing on the Singer Sewing Machine with the foot pedal…

Teaching me to do so many things…

The trees… the birds… the warm breeze…

The swing between the twin trees… swinging so high I could touch a branch of leaves with my toes…

Good memories… Early memories…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Free Write Friday: Your Earliest Memory

  1. Memories can be tricky. Sometimes when we look back we remember things better than they actually were and sometimes worse. It is nice to look back on our lives but we have to look forward to see where we are going now:)

Leave a Reply

