Stressful Toothache!

Toothache often is due to tensions triggered by continuous stress. This kind of toothache can become particularly intense when one has been “clenching/gritting one’s teeth” well into the night  k15592970, with the jaws pressing upon each other continuously with up to 400 g of pressure (a phenomenon which when happening in one’s sleep is referred to as bruxism).

Stress lowers the effectiveness of one’s immune defenses…k20308233k22455364

(http://www.healingteethnaturally.com/thoughts-emotions-and-toothache.html)

More and more signs of stress are showing up in the dentist’s office. k37953727  … During routine dental examinations and cleanings, dentists are able to detect oral symptoms of stress, including orofacial pain, bruxism, temporomandibular disorders (TMD), mouth sores and gum disease.

Stress affects the body in many ways. It has been linked to depression, high blood cholesterol levels, high blood pressure, and a number of other ills. What you may not be aware of, however, is that excessive stress can damage your teeth and jaws.

and so… this is what I found out this week…k38310103

My jaw… my back tooth on the lower right side… my head…

excruciating was what I said to describe the pain!…k3531715

The dentist had not found decay… had not found an abscess…

so what was causing this???…

STRESS!… with a Capital “S”…

Probably over this past year and a half… or maybe many years…

and we don’t realize it until the pain starts…

I was sent a prescription of antibiotics… but, didn’t touch it!…

(because I found out later I had no infection)…

A niece recommended an Emergency Dental Office open every day of the week…

so off I went… (great place)…k31336685

An x-ray… exam… 4 shots…k22373583…(stronger every time) after determining the problem area… and one pulled tooth later…k4325718

I was ready to kiss this young man who had chosen the Dental Profession…

He explained “stress” in toothaches… and the repercussion it can cause…

Me!… being a prime candidate!…k16350690

I had pushed my teeth (especially this back one) together so hard… that I had all of the nerves and tendons aggravated… and no other recourse than to remove the tooth…

YES!… please do!…

I could not have stood another hour …

I am now dealing with the much lesser pain of the needle probes… and extraction… but…NOTHING like before…

WOW!… I never knew Stress was such a danger to your teeth…

Recommendation of mouth/tooth guard bought over the counter…450k30398859

But… now I could give lessons on it!…

Pain meds… antibiotics and soft foods… and I will be good as new…

“I HOPE!”…

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Stressful Toothache!

  1. Bless your heart, Marilyn. You have been dealing with a lot of stress. Our bodies eventually tell us things. Hope you are able to sleep better with the new mouth equipment.

Leave a Reply

