Flying Days… Mom’s Cookbook… Old Photos

 

Cleaning out my computer/junk room yesterday…k7118715

got me to looking at old pictures… I had a huge box full…

I forged through them with a vengeance!…

getting rid of trivial things…

leaving me with two boxes still… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is something I have been wanting to do… anyway…

I wanted to find some photos of Bobby… me… kids… . for a slide show when/if I have to deal with his funeral…

MORBID???…

I don’t find it that wayour memories are preciousk24642679 and this is another way I can love my Bobby…

I am a preparer… or at least try…

We sat and reminisced over some… k14915262

I also ran across my Mother’s Cook Book…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

Recipes in her handwriting are so dear to me…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

Her clippings of a friend’s recipe… and others that she used /liked…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Applesauce Cake picTAxiqy made many times… Ingredients on hand!… and Brown Betty Strawberry_brown_betty_(5876742661) the same…

She let me use her prized book all of the time…

and now I am sorry is was abused with drippings… a little Vanilla Extract OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA … Cocoa powder… fingerprints…

but, when fingering these pages it took me back when I was a little girlk13839797learning to cook… bake(What I really like to do!)…

under the instruction of the greatest cook to meMY MOTHER!…

She had patience of a Saint… the gentleness of an Angel… k4119120… the wisdom of a Teacher… k4967876

She received this cookbook on August 4, 1937… in her handwritingOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA and the copyright attests to… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was kept in a drawer in our kitchen… when I discovered it…

Cakes OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA,  fudge k12140994  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA , popcorn ballspa0913_popcornballs_jpg_rend_sni12col_landscape OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA, salmon loaf 18644 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA, scalloped cabbage… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Simple recipes she would advise me to try…

Daddy was the Guinea Pig of course… k7780334

I might notice a grimacek6213146 but, no unkind words…

Life gives us so much… and as we grow older with these days… they seem to be flying by… becoming more precious… than ever…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Flying Days… Mom’s Cookbook… Old Photos

Leave a Reply

