Labor Day Memory… Jello Pretzel Salad

Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.

k29803045

But, of course we use it as a day to have picnics   k17422377, cook-outs k14596809and family/friend get-togethers…

We are no different…

A kind of last hoorah! at the end of summer!  k7104727

My Dad’s Birthday  k8150110was right on Labor Day… and being so young I thought it was Holiday just for him…

A hard worker… getting up early every day to go to his job of hanging wallpaper and painting  wallpa_c   … and then when he got home… he worked around our home that he built all of the time…

It had to be celebrated because of him!…

We always had everyone over with lots of food… yard games… and good conversation…

and Daddy received gifts on that day also… dressup2

So… when I found out it was a “National” Holiday…

it made no difference to me…

It was still Daddy’s special day… k20514878

We are going to my son’s to swim k22279038… eat… probably will have yard games like “corn hole”…

The weather is perfect!

We all pitch in to bring a dish… a drink  k11754671…a snack…

I made Strawberry Pretzel Salad… although I think of it as dessert!…

I ended up making three! …OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

One to take… one to give to my grass cutter neighbor… and one to stay here at home for us…

I REALLY like it!

It consists of a pretzel crustcream cheese/sugar/cool whip fillingStrawberry Jello/Fresh Strawberries…

Just the best refreshing dessert for summer!…

***************************

I grabbed a few photos from up above on the deck… at my son’s house…

Nice day!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The kids took advantage of the pool… Nothing stops them…

TOO cold for me…I don’t need to get sick…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister went with us… and shot BB Guns with my Grandson…

She is “all that”!…

Later… I wished for some more of the Smoked Pork Roast my son had made…

maybe a little more Pasta Salad…

maybe some Buffalo Chicken Dip/Chips…

maybe a little more Potato Salad…

Oh yes!… a Hot Dog… Hamburger…with alll of the fixings…

Baked Beans…

Tomato/Fresh Mozzarella Cheese Salad…

Fruit Salad…

Snickers Peanut Butter Pie…

Pineapple Dessert…

Did I say…

“WE HAD LOTS OF GOOD FOOD!”

 

2 thoughts on “Labor Day Memory… Jello Pretzel Salad

Leave a Reply

