Just a Prayer…

k15924010

Dear Lord…

Ever since Bobby was diagnosed with terminal cancer… our lives have had a shadow hanging over them…

It is not good getting this kind of news… no matter how it is given…

We have tried so hard to be upbeat…”showing smiles when our hearts are breaking”…

We have tried to go about our usual routines…”but, nothing is “usual” anymore”…

We have tried going places and doing things with others… but, knowing these events may be the last of these kind of times together…

We stay strong for the kids… but, they cannot imagine the thoughts their Dad has in the middle of the night… or the tears that fall from my eyes as my heart breaks…

Every day we wake we are so grateful for the days we are still getting…

Every day we are able to be together is cherished…

My heart hurts so bad and is filled with aching for that feeling of contentment…

Contentment of thinking of the future with hope… goals… moving toward accomplishments…

When news is heard like we were told… Your little part of the world just seems to grind to a halt…

Plans to do things seem fruitless…

Questions bombard your mind…

When… Where… How long…???…

We really don’t question WHY?…

We know WE are not immune to this pain… and to happenings in life… Even death…

BUT, you just hate the feeling…

Prayer helps… and Lord… YOU keep us with your words I hear!…

YOU will never be blamed…

We have had so much Love…

Heartaches… too… but, our Love has sustained us through these things…

so I pray now… Dear Lord… that YOUR LOVE will sustain us through what the future days hold…

AMEN

 

9 thoughts on “Just a Prayer…

  1. Dear, Dear Marilyn, my heart aches for you and I so wish I could give you a real hug and bring a casserole, it being the practical kind of thing I can do in such difficult circumstances. You have such strength of character and I admire you. I admire too your faith in your Lord.
    I send you both love across the ether. xx

  2. I join you in prayer that the Lord’s love will sustain you and your family through what the future days may hold. God’s strength be with you. Warmest hugs for you. Regards, Carol

  3. Dear Sweet Marilyn, Just remember to live each day to the fullest and as my Dad once said, “Take things one day at a time because tomorrow is never promised for any of us!” Prayers for both you and Bobby and have a joyous holiday season. On a lighter side, enjoy all those wonderful baked cookies and your beautiful family…..
    Love, hugs, prayers and blessings.
    Andrea

  4. Marilyn, I knew there was a poem that I wanted to send you but I couldn’t just put my hands on it. Now I have and this is for you:

    She will never walk alone
    She has God on her life
    She will never walk alone
    God is on her side
    She will never walk alone
    Because God is always watching out for her
    She will never walk alone
    Because she has a friend that is God
    She will never walk alone
    She has someone who loves her and that someone is God
    She will never walk alone
    Because God is a good friend of her
    She will never walk alone
    She will always have someone to keep her company
    And that someone is God
    She will never walk alone

    Aldo Kraas

Leave a Reply

