Caring Hearts… One Year Gone!

I pray in a year from now… I can see some positive results from this decision…

and then maybe… just maybe… I can live with myself… k13738002

 

https://babyjill7.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/live-with-myself/

 

This was written one year agok20477788  … so this is the update…

Bobby is still here… and doing good… even with the words “terminal cancer”… 

k24472835

Taking chemo every other week with a few days on pump

Will be one year in January… and we are grateful and feeling blessed!…

Doug has adjusted to his “new home”… k19685454

Would rather be home here with us… but, gets to come a couple of days a week to spend the night…

We still do our thrift store shopping… antiqu_c

order pizzak22727100 or I cook something he likes…

Changes I have seen…

Taking meds with no problem…

Very helpful to us when he’s visiting…

More caring… k13681420

More thoughtful…

More polite… k23558971

Has made friends…

Talks to all of the residents where he lives…

and they think he’s the greatest…

Compliments from staff and many times…

I hear the words…”I just love Doug!… He’s such a good guy”

Laughs a lot… k14833942

Tells stories of what is happening around him…

Shows compassion to other residents… k7840958

wanting to buy them small gifts they don’t (can’t) get…

He has Doctor Care k8110813 and Therapy regularly…

It still hurts when I drop him off some days…

wishing more for his life

but, inside I know it’s so much better than it was…

There have been family members that have been so good to him…

with cash money  k16981841 … gift cards k8942976and small gifts

every now and then…

and I am so thankful for them!…

He knows who really cares by these gestures…

I realize we cannot take on all who are in these situations…

but, it makes me feel grateful for those who have loved my son that much…

I wish he had more visitors… k14916867

His Dad and I are really it…

I feel sad for him…

He goes with us to visit his brother/sister-in-law/nieces/nephew…

but, I would like people to want to visit him…

That I have no control over…

He gets out and walks around the area where he lives…

to a store or two … k24464548

He has lately started to take some of his things back with him

He didn’t want his items taken… (which I can understand)…

Anywhere there are lots of people in one area you take that risk…

My main liking of our situation is the growth I see in him…

and the peace we have in our lives…

Thank you LORD! angel

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Caring Hearts… One Year Gone!

  1. A tough year for your family but you persevere! While this time of year brings joy and happiness to many, its also a time to reflect, and worry, and hope for good outcomes for all of those we love. I really loved the line….”That I have no control over” because when I wake up at 3 AM and worry about everyone else, that’s what I need to remember. We can love and accept and nurture and be caregivers but so many things we cannot control. May the new year bring comfort and happiness for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

