We Always Get Nostalgic at Christmas!

I find it hard to feel the Christmas Spirit(I need to say…”Like it felt years ago)…

The older you get… change is inevitable… and I can’t say, “I like it!”…

Our children are grown…

Our Grandchildren are still our “light”… but, getting older…

We have so many ill this year…  k12506213

and the unknown shadows the gaiety we should be feeling…

Get-togethers are changing with work schedules… k33718209

Some have had “Santa” already… k4982380… due to one of the parents having to work…

We live longer distances from some our loved ones…

I have baked/cooked   k4772145 … bought/wrapped gifts… decorated inside/outside…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have even already opened a few gifts given to me early…

and all were special…

a tea set with special teas… even little sugar cubes in the sugar bowl… k12883959

a beautiful blue purse  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA … a new 2017 calendar/ bookcandies…

a cute musical snowman that sings/plays the piano of “Let It Snow”… one of my favorite songs…

perfumes to make my nostrils perk up with it’s sweetness… k4560426

flavored coffee and candle…

a cute Snowman Cookie Jar… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know my joy comes in giving of my small gifts

watching my Grandchildren who are so excited!… on Christmas Eve night as we eat and play games laugh and talk… and open gifts…

xmas05_c

I love the cooler weather (no snow yet)… unusual for us not to have a white Christmas… that makes us breathe little puffy clouds…

birds (Cardinals) eating from bird feeder… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the hustle/bustle of people in the stores… (although buying off the internet is my way lately)…k4932647k7612565

the different smells of Holiday Baking… wood burning… pine needles… k1253265

Hot tea… coffee… and hot chocolate   k32146246

My favorite things are… (because these remain the same)…

Phone calls… conversations with friends/family…

Christmas cards in the mail   k7680750

Eating out…

Watching Christmas movies…

Listening to Christmas music… k23543512

Staying warm in our home…

Kitty cat kisses… (and mine also hugs!)…

Swapping recipes… (tasting new things)…

A hug when you have made yourself so tired…

and words of “that looks… tastes… smells” so good…

I say to others in sad times… “Every Holiday will not be perfect…

but, be thankful for all that were.”…  k16705108

I will heed my own advice!…

I wish everyone that reads this blog…

A “Very Merry Christmas”… and may your “New Year”… k41966811 find you with…

good health…

friendship…

food/shelter/clothing for your well-being…

enough money to take care of your needs…

and above all…

Love… Hope… Faith

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “We Always Get Nostalgic at Christmas!

Leave a Reply

