Simple Pleasures… but, SO GOOD!

Saturday was a surprise Birthday Party for my brother…

87 years old

He shares his Birthday with one of his grandsons… who was 13…

Good seeing everyone…

Great food…

and DELICIOUS CAKES

one with a pudding filling  

and one with chocolate mousse… 

Our Great-Grandparents are buried here in Kentucky…

and my brother had asked me to get a “rubbing” from the tombstone of the dates /names…

I had done this along with my sister as it rained and a tornado warning was blaring on the car radio…

Her holding umbrella over me…

We had no problems… but, had to hurry to obtain this information for our brother…

He had mentioned he would like it framed…

Since I had not given it to him yet…

I framed it for him with information on both of our Great-Grandparents…

Great-Grandpa McCoy Born in 1840…

and since I had been going through old photos…

 

With Jill’s help!!!…

 

I took him a packet with some that I had of him… and his family…

He seemed to really like it!…

I have other packets as well for others in the family…

**********

Monday I went to water aerobics     and visited my YMCA Senior Adults… that I use to work with…

What a great feeling… the welcome they gave me…

such precious souls

Just love them!…

They were making tissue paper flowers… and flower pictures…

getting into Spring Crafts…

I took them BINGO prizes…

A variety of things…

and also magazines to look through and use with craft ideas…

I left with bitter-sweet emotions…

Loved that job as well as I liked working in the school system with Special Kids… for 30 years…

but, Bobby likes me home right now… with him having his chemo treatments… and I think so too…

**********

Today was a day of us eating breakfast from McDonald’s…

I do usually make breakfast…

french toast… grits/ eggs/ toast… cereal /blueberries… whatever…
But, today Bobby wanted McDonald’s Pancakes (Hot Cakes) / Sausage/ Chocolate Milk…

and I have been liking their new Chicken McGriddle…

I then began on my ScrapBook I’ve been wanting to do…

Just photos of our life… of course they have been boxed for years…

adding a few new ones every now and then…

Any new photos and some I have scanned are on flash drives…

and it is easier to keep…

But…

there is nothing like holding and looking at those old pictures…

some with stains…

some with corners bent…

some too dark…

some too light…

**********

I broke away long enough to go with Bobby to Home Depot and buy some weed/feed for the lawn…

and two small shrubs for the front of the house…

Another fast food stop…

No cooking today!…

Subway… from Wal-Mart as I picked up a few things…

Him… a Steak/Cheese sub…

and me a Veggie Sub…

I really like their sweet onion dressing on it!…

We were happy!…

He got the weed/feed down and planted the shrubs and I watered them…

Hope they take…

when warmer weather comes… we will be doing a lot more…

Always things to do when you have a home…

some needed…

some wanted…

**********

Made another cake…

Triple Berry Upside Down Cake…

Brown sugar/butter melted in bottom of pan…

 

   

A mixture of berries…

Blueberries- Strawberries- Raspberries…

 White Cake Mix for batter…

It was good!…

Always too much … so gave more than half to neighbors… It was Sherry’s Birthday anyway…

**********

I love these spring days…

but, the air is still a little cool…

want that warm sun on my face…

My body craves it…

I was so content today to be with my Bobby…

Simple pleasures… but, so good!….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Simple Pleasures… but, SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

