Honor Flight…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to have heating and air conditioning put in last month…
never had been changed … since we moved here in April of 1988…
It was Easter Sunday morning…
Family helped … especially a brother-in-law…
who later passed with a brain tumor…
way too young…
Leaving my sister and six children…
it’s funny how your mind works…
one thought leads to another…
anyway…
when the guys were bringing out the old furnace…
my bird bath that I had just made was broken…
I had to bite my tongue…
I was so upset…
especially since I had searched out the bowl for it and made it myself…
Oh well!…
The air feels so much better…
I imagine the old unit was struggling to work…
Of course it seems to pour sometimes when it rains…
because besides the cost of the heat/cool units…
I have had to have dental work done…
One more trip and a new crown will hopefully keep me going on my chewing …
Dearly hope so…
Chemo still an ongoing ritual…
and Bobby still holding the cancer at bay…
we both are a little more emotional I think…
but, doing OK!…
We made a short trip for Bobby’s Birthday… to French Lick Indiana…
Free room… free buffets…and a little money to play penny slots…
A good time…
Came home with some of the money we had set aside … which is always good!…
My sister went with us…
we travel well… together…
and get along… with sharing a room… and deciding where to eat. etc….
Bobby still going to the Live Strong Program at the YMCA… and I do my swimming exercises…when I can…
A friend across the street… who cuts our grass…
gave us a letter about a program called…
HONOR FLIGHT, INC. …
it is for Veterans with terminal illnesses…
This organization honors American Veterans for their sacrifice and achievements by taking (flying) them to Washington DC to see the memorials at no cost to the Veteran…
They want the Veteran’s guardian (care giver) to fly and be with them to make it a wonderful experience…
SO…
I wrote it up…filled out the paperwork…
and sent it to them…
Today…
we received a call from Honor Flight that Bobby was chosen to go…
all expenses paid… for 3 days…
I pay a nominal amount to go with him…
We will fly from Louisville…
have a buffet dinner at night with speeches from representatives…
staying at a Hilton Hotel in Washington DC…
the next day after breakfast…
we will be taken to all of the Memorials…to view…
and on the 3rd day after lunch… we will arrive back in Louisville…
WE are so excited to get to make this trip …
and so grateful for this showing of gratitude…
and making my Bobby’s last days even better!…
Thank you Lord!

6 thoughts on “Honor Flight…

Leave a Reply

