and “Who are you?…

Memories…

Well… Happy Halloween!…

Since my kids have grown up and have their own children… aka … my grandchildren… Halloween has changed quite a bit…

My grandson on left… The Walking Dead Doctor…Their friend Kasey… Little Old Lady…Granddaughter…an 80’s Girl…

When I was a youngster we lived out in the county and houses were pretty far apart… We dressed in whatever homemade costume we could get together… A sheet with eyes cut out became a ghost … old pants with patches and a handkerchief filled and tied on a stick… made an instant bum… or hobo… A boy might dress like a girl or a girl dress like a boy… Maybe a uniform from your Dad’s work…etc.

I remember my “Snow White” bought costume… A cheap plastic face… a thin piece of material sewed to resemble the same character… but, I thought I was just beautiful!…

Then I had my own children and we still made costumes… similar to the ones mentioned above… but, maybe adding a fake mustache… a gun/holster for a cowboy … lipstick and rouge for a fairy princess with lots of Mom’s fake jewelery…

There were a few bought… the Hulk … I remember… but, as always… cheaply made with plastic that ripped and faces you couldn’t see out of…

Costumes now have become “BIG BUSINESS!”… catering to kids… but, at times it seems like more to the adults… Adults are just bigger little kids when it comes to Halloween… and the prices are phenomenal! …

I found this idea on another blog… and thought it was quite cute for an adult costume…

We still get a few kids in out neighborhood on Halloween night… Mom’s and Dad’s walking along and telling them to say,  

One of my granddaughter’s is too old or she thinks she is… to Trick or Treat… I told her she was so little… no one would know or care… One of them goes with her friends now… and while Daddy works… the youngest goes with Mom with his neighborhood friends

So, I’ll be here with my bowl of candy and take turns with my husband handing it out…

Usually the doorbell rings just as an interesting part in a movie we’re watching comes on…

Could I turn out the lights and act like no one is home?…

Yes, but my memory recalls how we just hated that when we were young… We knew they were home… peeking from behind curtains…

and the thoughts of past Trick or Treat nights with my friends, my sons and my grandkids… makes me greet each one with an, “Oh. my!… What are you?… Let me guess… Star Wars?… The Walking Dead?… Bat Man?… Spiderman? … Cheerleader?… Princess?… You look great!”… “Now, be careful… watch your step”, I say… as I give them an extra piece of candy…

 … hee…hee…hee!

One thought on “and “Who are you?…

Leave a comment