Shepherd’s Pie or Maybe “Humble”?

I’m not a great cook

I’m a person who likes easy… simple recipes…

The quick foods that are out right now that you can prepare from the freezer… a box or a bag“I just love them!”…

Meals in less than 30 minutes…

That’s my kind of cooking

I might add a pinch of this or that…x16039958

Maybe a few veggies to perk it up…

a little more onion k11795786or green pepperk1809138

Maybe a side dish or warm bread k6928993

I’m a “short order” cook…

Quicker the better!…

My newest try today was…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Velveeta Cheesy Casserole Dinner… (from a box)…

This one is called Shepherd’s Pie“…

Yes, I’ve made it before from scratch many moons ago…

But, basically it’s the same thing

Everything is just in this bright yellow box except the ground beefk6159775

You just brown the beef… drain… return to skillet… add seasoning/veggie packet and water… Cook for 1 minute…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I added some corn as one of their suggestions

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Put in bottom of casserole dish

Made instant mashed potatoes that came in the box… adding milk and butterMicrowaved for 3 minutes…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Poured Velveeta Cheese on meat first that comes in a packet… Then placed potatoes on top…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Baked in pre-heated 425 degree oven for 20 minutes

It gets all bubbly and the potatoes brown a little…

DONE!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add a saladk1995548 …if you want…

Maybe a piece or two of warm bread

I cooked!… just in a more simplified way…

and it taste just fine…

I might have to call this “Humble Pie”

k10170473

instead of “Shepherd’s Pie”… because I humbly apologize to all who don’t use or like these quick meals…

But, I will continue to make them… because that’s the kind of girl I am!

6 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Pie or Maybe “Humble”?

  1. Don’t apologize for being practical! If someone has the time to raise their own cow with organic grain and follow the process all the way through to shepherd’s pie great for them – but that isn’t the reality for most of us :-) You made a hot meal and that counts as time, effort, and caring in my world!

Leave a Reply

